Me and Autism

I don’t know if there’s anything abnormal about me on the outside. I don’t really look any different than anyone else and I think most people who see me walking around and going through life wouldn’t really think there was anything different about me.

On the other hand, there are some things about me that are very abnormal. I have Asperger’s syndrome or what will soon be known as autism spectrum disorder, high functioning. Now, saying that alone isn’t saying there is something inherently wrong with me, but it does say that there is something different and that is what I want this blog to be about.

There’s so many things about autism that people in the general public and even psychologists and “experts” in the field don’t understand about autism. This blog is probably just a drop in a very large pond, but in this blog I’m going to go through some features of autism that I exhibit and what I think about them or why I do them.

15 thoughts on “Me and Autism

  1. Hello, I have a child with autism, he is 5 years old and non-verbal. I would love to hear more about what you’ve been through, what you feel, what it’s like, anything and everything you are willing to share, any information that can help my son I want to listen to. Maybe you can answer some questions I wish my son could give me answers too, I truly hope you keep blogging and help educate other on autism!

    Like

    • Hey, thanks for the comment! I just started the blog a few days ago so there’s a lot I need to update but I’m coming up on finals week so I probably won’t be able to update much until next Friday. I hope that my posts are helpful once I get going!

      Like

      • I’m sure your post will help a lot. Can I ask you questions also? By this I mean like what does the sound sensitivity my son have feel like? Did I ever experience that? Also he is super super sensitive when it comes to his head, I can’t touch it, comb his hair, wash it (even though I do, I need to), anything to do with his head is super off lImits. I always wonder what he feels 😦 Hope u can answer some of these questions since he can, yet.

        Like

      • Yeah, you can ask questions. I can only really answer based on my experiences though so it shouldn’t be taken to refer to anyone with autism, just a possibility of how things are to someone with autism.
        I’ll do a post about sensitivity and go more into depth at a later point, but just briefly… for me, I was really sensitive to any touch. Like someone patting me on the back might feel like pins and needles or a really heavy weight. And as far as sounds go, I try to avoid loud noises. I listen to music really softly and speak really softly sometimes and generally avoid loud parties and stuff. But it does get better, things may still bug me just as much but I know how to cope with them more now and as far as touch goes, I’ve grown to like hugs and pats on the back, etc. It’s just something that I’ve gotten used to and I understand the reason behind them so that makes it better.
        That’s all I can say for now, but I’ll add a post later about sensitivity.

        Like

      • Thanks so much for explaining this to me, i know feel that I can understand alex more specially with his sensitivity with his hair. It’s totally off limits, we can’t wash it, comb it, cut it, touch it or anything close to it. He must feel something close to what u describe about being patted on the back. Again thanks for taking the time to exPlain to me, thanks a million!

        Like

    • I know that it has been a few years, but I wanted to let you know that I reactivated this blog and am posting regularly now. Sorry that the blog went silent for a while. I hope that if you still have questions I can continue to help answer them 🙂

      Like

  2. Marci Dallazen says:

    I’m so proud of you! We never discussed your Autism directly when you were in high school because we didn’t really need to. You pushed yourself to explore different experiences that may have been outside of your comfort zone. I always tried to be a silent and supportive case manager that encouraged your explorations. One of my proudest moments as a Special Educator was when you gave your Saladictorian speech. What I never shared with you is that I have a 24 year-old brother with Autism. I’m proud of your openess and candor in your blog. Lots of love and respect, Ms. Dallazen

    Like

  3. Joseph Wagstaff says:

    I’m proud of you, your efforts, your successes, and your good heart! I love & respect the fact that I have a daughter who’s making a name for herself in her own right! No one can hold you down, & you’ll prove all of those who don’t believe you can do something wrong because you keep excelling in ways that no-one expects!!

    Like

  4. I’m looking forward to seeing you again soon… Your mom & I really miss you when you’re away! I’m hoping things will work out for you to go on a mission; I think you would be one of the best missionaries the Lord ever had out there!

    Like

  5. susan dirienzo says:

    boy, how time flies, I remember when my son was first diagnosed, I went online searching for answers…I some-how came across you 🙂 …You helped me thru many a teary night!…..T.J. will be 13 in May, he is on the honor at school. he only recently realized he is a little different than others, He deals with chronic migraines, he asked me about a week ago if he was different because” migraines changed his brain” I explained as much as I could, (without overwhelming him). I am ever grateful you started this site You are helping educate us all . I now have your blog to share with him. thank you! ❤

    Like

    • I’m glad I could help. I’m always amazed at how many people say I’ve helped them when I’m really just being myself. It’s a good to know that I’m making a difference for good. 🙂

      Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

