Laughing

Have you ever felt like laughing when it was completely the wrong situation for it?

I don’t know if this is a common feeling or if there’s just some of us that are more prone to laugh in serious situations than others, but I’ve had a hard time with laughter throughout my life.

I didn’t know until recently that inappropriate laughter was a symptom of autism. I think laughing is something I like to do and that is a natural reaction for me in different situations. I remember in school always getting in trouble for not looking at a teacher when she was talking to me (and for those of you wondering, this is different than lack of eye contact kind of not looking). Basically, the reason why I couldn’t look at the teacher is because I’d start cracking up. I thought it was so funny that they were so serious that I couldn’t keep a straight face while I looked at them so I had to look away.

This has gotten a little better over the years but I still have trouble with laughing in the wrong situation at times. I guess it’s something you just kind of learn to keep quiet in the wrong situations and it tends to make people just laugh with me sometimes which is always a good thing. =)

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

