Conversational Speaking

I have been looking into other blogs recently and I noticed that when I read some other blogs I often feel like the person is speaking with me and not just speaking somewhere I can hear.

I’m not sure if my blog is like that or not. To me, my blog sounds like I’m just speaking out loud for others to hear. Like I’m maybe giving a lecture or an explanation rather than having a conversation.

Perhaps this is my problem in real life as well. Maybe I just don’t know how to speak in a conversation, but rather see my words as explanations.

It’s kind of hard to explain and this post may seem incomplete by the time I’m done with it, but I’m trying to figure myself out so I’m just putting it out there to see if anyone has any thoughts on this.

I feel like I may see words as individual pieces of information rather than as a flow of speech that facilitates communication. To me, communications are calculated. Someone says something requiring a response, you output the response and possibly pose a new statement requiring a response. It’s the way things work, like a clock with all the little pieces functioning together to keep moving forward.

I wonder how other people view words and conversation. I know it’s not something we really think about, but more of something that comes automatically. But for me the automatic-ness comes from the equation-like structure. Like a choose-your-own-ending book, you choose a response and then the book tells you what the result of that response is.

I wonder if other people feel like they have more of a control over what happens in a conversation. Or if they feel like there is more to the conversation than the simple input and output of words. Maybe it’s not so much what you say but what the other person perceives, only how are you supposed to tell what the other person is perceiving?

 

Anyway, I apologize for the odd organization of this post. I just decided to put my thoughts out there and see what happens. If you have any thoughts on this, I’d be happy to hear them.

2 thoughts on “Conversational Speaking

  1. I believe that conversations are an amalgam of explanation and emotional interchange. There are two channels to every discussion: the pure words and their meaning, and the way those meanings are absorbed into the psyche of the participants. Some people operate more in one channel than another; I tend to have to work to pay attention to the explanation, whereas subtext and emotional response I absorb without effort. It took me a surprising number of decades to realize I don’t have a “bad” memory, I just have a memory that retains the emotional content rather than the (useful! applicable!) mechanical information encoded in the words. I bet that blogs have the same sort of “channels,” and depending on the author, there will be some that hum along in the emotional sector, like a best friend whispering to you at a slumber party, and some blogs that have the unimpeachable authority of explanation. Neither is wrong or right. They just are different, and as you note in another post, it’s totally okay to be different. 🙂

    Nice to meet you!

    -aniko

    Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

