Fireworks

I have a love/ hate relationship with fireworks. I love watching fireworks, but I hate hearing them. I hate the sound they make when they go off. I hate the squealing sounds and booming sounds and crackling sounds. I hate that they are so loud. You can even hear fireworks sometimes when they’re miles away.

I can usually get by with wearing earplugs, but I really hate having to do that. Earplugs feel so invasive. They feel like putting elephants or knives in my ears, but that’s nothing in comparison to how fireworks make me feel.

When I hear fireworks, especially loud ones, I feel like I’m exploding inside. I feel pressure inside my rib cage like my insides are trying to squeeze through the bones. My eardrums feel like they’re pounding and ringing. And overall, my body feels tense and unstable.

This description is mostly how I feel about loud fireworks though. The more quiet fireworks are still uncomfortable, but they are much less pervasive. I can get by without earplugs when it’s only the more quiet fireworks. The loud fireworks though sometimes push me to the edge of my sanity.

Sometimes, I want to run outside and yell for everything to be quiet. I know it won’t do any good, but I can’t stand the feelings so I have to do something. Sometimes I just want to cover my ears and yell because I’d rather hear the sound of my own screams than hear the sound of fireworks. Sometimes I want to just curl up in a corner and rock and try to pretend that the world has disappeared around me.

However, everything I’ve said is dependent on how I feel. If I’m stressed or anxious, what I’ve said definitely is true. But if I’m calm and relaxed, the noise of fireworks seems to slide past my ears instead of going into them. It’s almost like I don’t even really hear them so they don’t bother me.

Because of this, fireworks on the Forth of July aren’t usually an issue for me. I expect them to happen and I’m usually watching them and I’ve usually had a good day before they go off. The fireworks that really get to me though are the ones people set off early. It’s the July Third fireworks that really become unbearable. They’re unexpected; I’m usually a little stressed or anxious about the next day, and I don’t usually go out and watch them.

I think watching the fireworks really helps with the noise because I just love how fireworks look. I love the colors and lights of fireworks. I love the way they follow patterns and make shapes. I love that they burst in beauty and then fade into darkness. I can connect with the way fireworks look.

But until I can find a way to enjoy fireworks without the noise, the days surrounding the Forth of July will always be tough for me.

10 thoughts on “Fireworks

  1. I live in Austin, Texas and was so totally surprised my first New Year’s here. They do even MORE fireworks on New Year’s than on the 4th! Just warning you in case you’re ever visiting then!

    -aniko

    Like

  2. Fireworks are also a struggle for me. It pains my family that I never join them, but I just cannot take the noise. I hope that you can find a way to enjoy them without struggling!

    Like

  3. My wife really hates the sound of fireworks too, so we bought some ear muffs that people use for shooting. That way she doesn’t have to have plugs in her ears that don’t work well. She even got cute pink ones. It makes the 4th better.

    Like

  4. I must say that I don’t really enjoy the noise fireworks make either, though from your description of your experiences, I’m sure you dislike them more!

    I have to say also that I really love your descriptive language, very readable, please do keep it up!

    God bless you!

    Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

