Finding Myself

I woke up this morning about 3 hours too early to use the restroom and had an interesting experience. I don’t know how to describe it exactly, but I was scared. In fact, I was nearly terrified and for no physical reason whatsoever. I was half asleep, but the room was light enough to see everything and I usually go to sleep in nearly complete darkness. The house hadn’t changed and there was nothing in the environment that was scary. But I think it was that feeling of being half there and half not that scared me. It was a feeling of not knowing where I was mentally.

And then after dazing in and out of sleep for a while, I found myself. It was like I came back to myself and was whole again. And then everything was okay. I wasn’t scared anymore. It was like I had been somewhere else and I was scared that I wouldn’t come back, but when I did the world didn’t seem as scary anymore.

I don’t know how else to describe this experience and this post is very different from my usual posts, but because of the scariness and uniqueness of the situation I had to put it on here. I wonder if anyone else has had a similar situation or has any thoughts on the situation. The closest thing I can think of that may come close to what I felt is a near death experience, but this was definitely not a near death experience.

Anyway, if you have any thoughts on this, I’d be happy to hear them. Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Finding Myself

  1. I can’t say I had the same experience as you, but I have had an experience that left me with the same scared feeling you are describing when I awoke. I woke up, and when I did, it felt as if I woke up in a dream – like I wasn’t awake but in the dream, and when I was asleep that had been when I was awake. I know that seems absolutely weird and probably doesn’t make sense. But like you, it was really scary for me. Everything around me was the same, and nothing had changed, it was my life, but I just felt different too. I got up and did stuff though and eventually kind of snapped out of it and realized it was my life. And wasn’t scared any more. But I understand the scariness of it.

    Like

  2. Were you able to move? It could have been a kind of sleep paralysis, where your body stays asleep while your brain wakes up. That often gives me a freaky feeling of not-quite-there-but-not-really-asleep.

    Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

