An Award

I have been thinking a lot lately about how I feel about WordPress awards and whether or not I would accept them/ do them. Well, the deciding point has come. I was nominated for a Very Inspiring Blogger award byΒ ambient_memory.

Although I am grateful for the thought, accepting this award is a difficult thing for me. Β I like the fact that these awards allow you to get to know other bloggers and do some networking in the community, but they can also be very stressful.

I consider myself to be a fairly new blogger. I have only gotten serious about blogging in the past couple of months. So I’m still getting to know fellow bloggers, which means I’m not really comfortable with socializing with them yet.

What am I getting at?

Well… if you haven’t guessed by my blog name, I have autism. Which means that some parts of communication are difficult for me. And for me, that includes online communication. I have always had a hard time starting a conversation with people and nominating someone for an award is a pretty blunt and straightforward way of starting a conversation.

Possibly the hardest part of this is that I feel like this blog is me. If one of my other blogs had been nominated, it would be relatively easy to choose other people to nominate since those blogs are simply impressions I have had. This blog though is me online. So for the people I meet through this blog, this is essentially who I am to them and as such any socializing I do through this blog is me talking to other people.

So I have decided to accept the award, but it may take me a little while to find the 15 people I would like to nominate in return.

12 thoughts on “An Award

  1. Hi there. I’m sorry if I’ve made this difficult for you and I would completely understand should you choose not to accept it. There is no time limit for you to nominate others, and I genuinely wanted to offer it to you because I think your blog is great and that more people should read about what you have to say. I realize now that this means I’m perhaps bringing publicity to your blog, which you would rather not have. If you like, I can edit the post, so that I ask my readers not to bother you too much?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do not know anyone personally with autism so what I know of it is what little I am learning from you. But…..had you not made that known, your posts are of such that I am truly inspired by your words as they are totally honest and that shines forth…what this world so badly needs. Thank you for sharing YOU with US.

    Like

  3. I love your blog and any award is very deserved. Congratulations.

    Your writings are very helpful. My grandson has been diagnosed with ASD and your impressions and difficulties caused by this disorder has given me a wonderful insight into the debilitating social problems he faces everyday.

    Please keep up the great window into ASD so we can understand and maybe make the lives of those touched by it a little easier. Thank you.

    Christine Hayton

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

