Changing Autismthoughts

I have come to the point where this blog as it is at the moment doesn’t make sense anymore. The title autismthoughts was meant to reflect thoughts I had about autism and because of autism, and to explain how people with autism might think. I’ve come to the point now though where I don’t think I have autism thoughts. I just have regular thoughts. Yes, I have autism, but does that mean that all my thoughts are autistic?

Having autism is a part of me, like being a Christian or being an aunt is a part of me. It doesn’t change me and yet it changes everything about me. I am not a different person because of the autism label, but autism has been a part of my life that has definitely contributed to who I am today. I am who I am because of autism, but I am not an autistic person or even a person with autism. I am just a person. I am a human being who just happens to be diagnosed with autism.

The thing is, when I started this blog, I needed to be autistic. I needed to explore autism and explore autism within me and try to figure out that part of me that I never really had a chance to get to know before. But now, I don’t have that need anymore. I know who I am and I understand autism within myself to a point that I am satisfied to just be me. I don’t have to have autism thoughts. I can just have thoughts.

So… I may be changing the name of this blog and the direction of it in the next few weeks. If you have any input on the name change or what you would like to see in posts, I’d be happy to receive any feedback from you.

As always, thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Changing Autismthoughts

  1. It is wonderful that you are feeling more than just your autism. As the grandparent of an autistic child you have provided some very real insights into the thoughts that drive autism. I hope you continue this blog and remind people that we all have a voice and feelings and dreams. I hope you continue to relate your experiences and feelings.

    Like

    • I’m definitely going to keep writing. But I have 3 blogs and I’m thinking that maybe it’s a good time to combine them all and just put all my thoughts in one place. I still have a lot to share with the world. I just don’t feel the need to limit myself to just talking about autism anymore though.

      Like

  2. Merryn says:

    It has been sooo long since I have been on here regularly and reading posts – sorry I have missed some great posts from you including this one. I have had some personal struggles which made it really hard to write or even read. I loved this post. It makes sense to me. This blog has helped you define yourself and to know that you are not autism – it just happens to be a part of who you are. I can relate to your blog evaluation – I do that from time to time and the wonderful thing is, you can change your blog at any time because you are the publisher! If it wasn’t for Lisa’s Sisterhood of the World Blogger award just over a week ago, I might have taken down my blog and started up a new one, or abandoned it altogether. Encouragement is so important and so I am nominating you for the same award. Feel free to follow whichever of the rules you want to and ignore the rest. It’s not to stress you – I just want more people to visit your blog. That will happen regardless of whether you follow all the rules :). I’ll paste the link to my post here in a few minutes…

    Like

      • Merryn says:

        Your blog is one of the most interesting and informative ones I read. I have gained so many insights into the practical side of autism (much more useful to me than a book definition!). Most importantly though, I feel as though you are a friend – your posts are so open and thoughtful.

        Like

      • I’m glad πŸ™‚ I always love when I can help people understand a little bit more, that’s part of the reason I started this blog in the first place. I’m also grateful that we found each other’s blogs. It’s always nice to share interests with people. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

