Feeling Full

With the upcoming holidays, this has been on my mind lately.

I have never been the type of person to overeat on Thanksgiving. I eat on Thanksgiving the same way that I eat every other day of the year. I eat until I’m just satisfied. I enjoy Thanksgiving and the food and everything, but I just can’t stand the feeling of being full.

I don’t like feeling like there’s food in my stomach. It is uncomfortable. On the other hand, I also hate feeling hungry… which means I pretty much have to eat all the time to make up for it.

In general I probably eat about 7 times a day. (I used to eat more often, but since I work for 8 hours a day I don’t generally eat more than once during that time, but on weekends I probably eat about 10 times a day.) I usually eat less than most people at regular meals and then eat snacks and mini meals throughout the rest of the day. Sometimes it seems like I hardly ever stop eating.

The most unhealthy part of not liking feeling full is that I have a hard time drinking much water. I can’t handle very much water in my stomach at one time. Water just gives me such an uncomfortable feeling, especially if I drink it on an empty stomach. And because I don’t drink much water I tend to have some problems because of that.

I think that may be one reason why people with autism may have more digestive problems than others. Water is just hard to handle sometimes. I’m working on getting better about drinking water though and I’m hoping it’ll help.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Full

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

