Easter

Easter is one of my favorite holidays. I love the chocolate bunnies. I love spending time with my family. And most of all, I love celebrating the life and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

This year I decided to make Easter baskets for my family. Mostly it was because I’m single and I have the time and money to do so, but also because I just love making people happy. I love watching someone’s face as they discover something exciting. And Easter baskets are just exciting.

My family used to hide the Easter baskets on Sunday morning. When we woke up we’d have to find them under our bed or behind the tv or between couch cushions. Easter was always exciting for me. And I always hoped to get a chocolate bunny. I’m not exactly sure why, but my favorite chocolate is chocolate bunnies- the solid milk chocolate kind.  I think it has to do with the texture. No matter what brand of chocolate it is, it tastes better as a bunny shape.

Anyway, because Easter and springtime in general is a time for new beginnings, I’ve decided to use this time to set some resolutions. I’ve never engaged very much in setting New Year’s resolutions because I just feel like I shouldn’t have to wait until a new year to start making changes. If I want to make changes in my life, I want to start today not 8 months from now.

But I’ve decided to make some Easter resolutions because I want to be better. And even though I try to be better every day, I think connecting it to Easter will give me greater hope in trying to accomplish my goals. Because in the end, it’s not really me that pulls me to a new level of being. I am just a person, but “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

7 thoughts on “Easter

  1. Alvaro says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing
    this site. I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.

    In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal site now 😉

    Like

  2. Your post brought back so many memories for me. 🙂 I used to love Easter morning as a kid!! Our baskets were always hidden, too. It was so much fun – I have 5 siblings, and the rule was if you found someone else’s basket you had to keep quiet and not give away the hiding spot. One year, my brother couldn’t find his basket anywhere. We all joined in to help. It took awhile, but we found it in the bathroom hidden between the shower curtain and liner. (Pretty sneaky.) We all still laugh about that 30 years later!
    And I totally agree – chocolate tastes so much better in bunny form, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your idea of giving Easter baskets. I gave one to a student of mine last week (I typically don’t give gifts to my kids) and his family sent me the most delightful photo of them all decked out in bunny masks and enjoying the Easter cards the student and I had created. I definitely got more than I gave. And how wonderful to know that Jesus loves us SO much! Just as we are! Woohoo! Best news ever!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

