Autism Acceptance

April is Autism Awareness month. But from what I’ve seen we have awareness of autism. People know the prevalence numbers. They have some sort of idea of what autism is (whether that idea is accurate or not is a different story). So really this should be autism education month. I say autism education because acceptance is not likely to occur any time soon and I don’t see awareness as a current issue.

So… if I don’t believe that autism acceptance is a likely possibility, why did I title this post autism acceptance? – Mostly because that’s still the ideal.

It might sound silly, but I think of Martin Luther King Jr’s “I Have a Dream” speech. He talked about acceptance of different races and ethnicities and skin colors when it was not a likely possibility. And even though the world isn’t completely color-blind yet and we still have discrimination to some extent, it’s gotten a lot closer to racial acceptance.

So that is my dream- not racial acceptance, of course, but autism acceptance. I know it’s not likely to happen, but maybe one day it will be a lot better. And I do realize that things have gotten better already. We’re not at the point we were 20 years ago. Still though, I hope that one day it will be easier to have autism in this world where being different can be seen as such a negative thing.

2 thoughts on “Autism Acceptance

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

