Getting Older

Today I turned 25. And today, I feel like I am 25. It’s sort of strange getting older, or at least counting the years of getting older. Are we as old as our birth certificates say we are? Or are we the age we feel inside?

In the last year, I started a job in a company where I could possibly stay for the rest of my life; I bought a car; I got my own insurance; I got my first speeding ticket. And all in all, I just changed. I feel different. I feel older and responsible and ready to be an adult and settle down and find my way in the world.

I feel like I go through stages in my life. I was basically a kid all through high school. I went through my teenager stage in college. I went through young adult singleness for the last four years, and now I’m ready for the next stage.

So today I am 25 and officially an adult inside. I don’t know if I’ll be 26 next year or if I’ll just stay 25 for a few years, but today my birth certificate and my soul are in sync.

5 thoughts on “Getting Older

  1. technicolourbrain says:

    Hi. Love your blog. I have to say I know the feeling. I am 25 next year and it scares me. It’s like I’m really an “official adult”. I think life gets a little bit easier for people like us as we get older. Maybe that’s from the early knock backs in life. We are learning and adapting all the time, unbeknownst to ourselves, even though we are not hardwired for change. Hope you are having a great birthday. Good Luck!

    Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

