Changing Regrets

I don’t believe in regrets. I mean, I know that regrets exist, but I don’t believe in keeping regrets.

Some people say that everyone has regrets. But I believe that though we all make mistakes, we don’t have to regret those mistakes. I want to live with no regrets ever. I want to confess to every mistake, say I’m sorry for every time I may even be slightly wrong, and let everyone know how much they mean to me all the time. Maybe that’s a little optimistic or idealistic or just plain insane, but it might just be possible too.

I don’t have many regrets in my life- not because I’m a good person, but because I usually do all I can to change those regrets. If I have offended someone, I do all I can to apologize. If I have neglected someone, I do all I can to make it right again. If I have hurt someone, I do all I can to make it better. I understand that there are some things you can’t make better and some scars that can’t be healed and some apologies that won’t make a difference, but I can try.

There have been a few things that have weighed on my mind lately and I have finally taken the time to change those regrets. Maybe my efforts won’t do anything. Maybe things will even get worse because of my trying to fix things. But if I died tomorrow, at least I can say I did all I could to have no regrets.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

