Being Genuine

Today in church we talked about being genuine. One of my friends made a comment about how much she appreciates that I’m genuine. It was an interesting way of looking at myself because I’ve been thinking lately that I have a serious problem with honesty. I’m far more open and honest than I should be. And I tell people things they really don’t need to know or want to hear.

I mean, I don’t go around offending people, but I always tell the truth no matter what the question or situation. No matter how personal or trivial, I say what I really think and express how I really feel.

And I am me always. I don’t pretend to be someone else. I believe in owning up to my mistakes and not apologizing for my strengths. Especially with all of the new goals I’ve been setting for myself, I am even more myself than ever before.

It hasn’t gotten me in trouble yet, but I’m just waiting for the day when someone will say, “I really didn’t need to know that” or “wow, you are brutally honest.” And I won’t be surprised because I’ll know it’s true. In the meantime though, I’m happy that people see it as me being genuine.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

