Hope Givers & Hope Seekers

I have been very blessed in my life with a lot of hope givers, which is a good thing because I am a hope seeker. People often call hope givers optimists and hope seekers are sometimes labeled pessimists. Although hope givers are optimists most of the time, I think of hope seekers as more of rehabilitating or recovering pessimists. We are pessimists trying to find things to be optimistic about. We often label ourselves realists because it feels closer to how we feel about the world. We want to see the good in the world, but we can’t pretend to see good when we don’t.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot about the hope givers in my life. I have had so many people in my life that are hope givers. These are the kind of people that you just want to be around because they make you feel good about yourself. You can’t leave their company without feeling better in some way. These are the people that you want around in good times and bad. They will make a bad day better and a good day memorable.

Unfortunately, hope givers can also be the ones that we don’t realize are struggling. They radiate such positive energy that we may not realize the extent of their pain. Like Robin Williams, they bring hope and joy without letting us see the depth of their despair.

Through this blog I have realized that we are all a little more hurt than we let others see. We all probably need a little more love and hope than we receive. And we could all probably use a little more friendship and compassion than we are offered.

I don’t know if you can go from being a hope seeker to a hope giver. Not that hope seekers don’t give hope. They just tend to give it in the midst of their hope seeking rather than as a result of just being hopeful. I am definitely trying though. I am trying to become more like the hope givers in my life. In the meantime though, I hope people can find some hope through my hope seeking.

4 thoughts on “Hope Givers & Hope Seekers

  1. What a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL post – and concept.
    You put something I’ve really been thinking about into words. I think people perceive me as a hope giver, but YES, I have so been struggling for so long, and seeking hope to feed me so i can feed myself and others too I guess – because i am a mother above all…
    Thanks and love,

    Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

