Coming Out

I feel like I have been coming out about so many things this week. On Wednesday I came out about depression and autism. And on Sunday I came out about gender identity issues.

It’s a completely different experience to come out in person than it is online. When I come out online, I often anxiously wait for an answer to feel like what I said was okay. When I come out in person, I just want to get away as fast as possible because I don’t want an answer, at least not in person. If people hate me online, that’s one thing. But to have someone reject me in person, I’m not sure if I could handle that.

On the other hand, it’s sort of freeing to finally come out in person about my mental health struggles. It’s like I’m finally progressing towards becoming a motivational speaker because if I can talk about it here, I can talk about it anywhere.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

