Grateful for Gratitude

I absolutely love being thankful. It makes me happy and makes other people happy, which makes the world a better place. Finding things to be thankful for isn’t always easy, but it makes the good times better and the hard times easier to handle. Some of my favorite friendships have evolved because of gratitude.

One of my favorite expressions is the look on someone’s face when you sincerely thank them for being themselves. For me, this usually happens after I write someone a letter. I have awkwardly thanked someone in person, but it just doesn’t express my true feelings adequately. When I write, it’s like my heart coming out on paper. It’s freeing to be able to thank someone like that.

Along with giving thanks, I must also say that I love receiving thanks. I don’t do things to receive thanks, but when someone honestly, unexpectedly, willingly thanks me, my heart bursts with happiness. It’s like drinking hot chocolate after being outside on a cold day. It warms you from the inside out. I am so grateful for the thanks people have given me. It has saved me on my darkest days and kept me going when I had no hope.

Gratitude is the basis of my life. I live with depression, autism, suicidal thoughts, etc.; but gratitude is what I thrive on. Even on the darkest nights, I am grateful for the morning. I am grateful it won’t last forever. And I am so grateful for the opportunity to be grateful.

3 thoughts on “Grateful for Gratitude

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

