Grateful for Listening

I love to talk. When I get the chance to really talk to someone, I always talk longer than I plan to, more than I expect to, and about more than I  probably should. But… I have had days, even weeks, where I hardly heard the sound of my own voice. So, when I do get to talk, I tend to make up for the years of not being able to talk as much as I wanted. Heck, I still don’t get to talk as much as I want.

But I am so grateful for the people who have listened and do listen. I am so grateful for the opportunity to talk. I am grateful for the opportunity to open up about life. I am so grateful for friends over the years who have let me trust them and talk to them, even when they probably had more important things to do.

And I am grateful for the opportunity to listen. Listening has been a talent that I have always been good at. Sometimes listening to others has changed my life or theirs. I used to be involved in many support groups where I generally just listened to people. Listening saved lives many times. I can’t emphasize enough the power of listening, but I am so grateful for it.

4 thoughts on “Grateful for Listening

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

