Grateful for Service

I love doing nice things for people. It feels like spreading hope. Some people at my church probably see me as that person who signs up for everything. While it is true that I sign up for everything I can do, it is probably not for the reason people think. I sign up for completely selfish reasons, and I am okay with that.

I sign up to help because I need to get outside of myself. I volunteer to bring things because it gives me a purpose and a reason to stay. I offer to serve because it gives me something to do with my time.

I always try to serve as quietly as possible. I try to do things anonymously. I try to be invisible in my service. It’s not because I’m ashamed of it, but because I feel unworthy of it.

It may seem strange, but service feels like such a blessing to me. It’s like going to Christmas dinner. You have already had an amazing day, but you still get to experience that extra measure of happiness. Service makes me so happy that it doesn’t seem fair. It doesn’t seem fair that no one else realizes the blessings of this gift.

I am so grateful for the opportunity to serve and to be served. It seems strange to me that we reject service. I think we learn to do so as a courtesy or a symbol of strength. And it can develop to be prideful. But it shouldn’t be like that. Receiving service is just as important as giving it. I am so grateful for the service I have received. I am grateful for the people who have served me in unexpected ways.

Without the opportunity to serve, to perform small acts of kindness, to give away love and happiness, I would be lost to the darkness. I need service like I need to breathe. I need to be part of spreading hope because otherwise, I would be overwhelmed with hopelessness. I need to be able to participate in service because it gives me a reason to keep trying. And I am so grateful for that.

2 thoughts on “Grateful for Service

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

