My New Friends

I have amazing friends.

That is such a powerful statement.

Just saying I have friends seems like such an accomplishment, but to have friends as amazing as I do now is almost unbelievable.

The thing is, I finally realized that it was me that was the problem. I could have had amazing friends a long time ago, but I denied myself that gift out of fear.

The friends that I have now are no different in friendliness or kindness or generosity than the friends I had in the past. I have been incredibly blessed with amazing people in my life. I just never thought I was worthy of them; so I never did anything to put them in my life. Well, I tried, but I tried like a fish trying to breathe with no water. It was futile because I felt inherently incompatible with the goodness I saw in other people.

I can’t say I feel compatible with the amazing people around me just yet, but I see a spark of that goodness in me. I see a glimmer, a light, an opportunity to be better. My availability of good friends hasn’t changed. They have always been there, but I have changed.

I decided to quiet my fears. I decided to text someone when my mind told me not to. I decided to sit next to someone or talk to someone or make a comment when I was incredibly scared. Those small, deliberate decisions have changed everything.

I’m still scared. I’m terrified even when I text someone I have messaged before or make a comment in a familiar setting. I still fear the worst will happen. But courage is not the absence of fear, but the decision to act despite being scared. So I have acted and I am elated by the results. I can only hope it continues, and keep pushing past the fear that I’m not good enough. If these people are friends with me, there must be some good in me.

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

