A Plea

This weekend I was supposed to go with a friend to visit someone from church, but I was caught in traffic and didn’t make it. I was supposed to take a midterm that luckily was rescheduled. I was supposed to do laundry and go to the temple and finish a programming project and read talks and write in my journal. This weekend, I was supposed to pick up my dad from the airport and spend time with family and help with the kids.

I didn’t really do any of those things. Of the things that I attempted to do, I was either too overwhelmed to accomplish or circumstances prevented me from being able to finish.

So what did I do this weekend? I cried a lot. I slept a lot. I curled up in my bed or in a corner of my room and just tried to forget about the world. I broke down and just caved in to the exhaustion.

Sometimes you just have days like that, weeks like that. Sometimes you just have times when you can’t even pretend to be okay. And it’s okay. It is okay to feel like you just can’t do it anymore. It’s okay to feel like life is too hard or too much or simply that you need a break.

I hope that when those times come, you try to be kind anyway. I hope you don’t give up on the world or yourself. I always just tell myself that it will get better. I tell myself that it’s okay to know the darkness, but to not stop recognizing the light.

As much as it gets better, I have realized that there will always be days when I’m not okay. There will be nights when I will desperately long for a friend to be there for me, but will be far too afraid to ever try to reach out to someone. There will be hard times, but I am grateful that I don’t have to face them quite as alone as I once was.

This week, I went to a funeral, found out my friend was starting inpatient treatment, heard stories of heartache and pain, and as I said before, broke down multiple times. Each of these circumstances reaffirmed to me what I posted about a few days ago… That loneliness is a far greater trial than any other hard thing you can go through.

Please, if you can do anything to help someone be less lonely, please do it. I know it’s hard. I understand that you’re busy. I know we all have different priorities. But loneliness is real. It’s a feeling I understand well. If you can do anything to help someone who may be experiencing loneliness, I plead with you to act. Life is too short to struggle alone. Maybe we can’t cure loneliness, but I can make it better for you, and you can make it better for me, and we can make it better for others.

3 thoughts on “A Plea

  1. I am present to a friend with emails and good words and smiles but i feel stupid to smile by myself….I feel not useful at all, it’s not that that person is looking for maybe….

    Like

    • I do not know what your friend is going through. They may be struggling with depression and lost temporarily to the darkness of their mind. If that is the case, friendship is not able to fix how it feels. But having someone care, having someone willing to try even though it is hard does make a difference.

      You are doing good things. Your efforts do make a difference, even if it is small. What you do and who you are does matter.

      Thank you for trying. Thank you for reaching outside of yourself. It makes the world a better place.

      Liked by 2 people

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

