Trusting Someone

I made a new friend. Well, actually… She kind of made me…

It’s different though. It’s different from my normal friendships. She wants to know about me, and not just the surface stuff… But the scary stuff… She wants to know who I am, how I became who I am… She wants to know about the parts of me that aren’t okay. And she says I can trust her with the things about me that are broken.

I want to open up to her. I want to trust her. It’s really scary though. It’s scary to have someone you can tell things to. I’m scared that I will tell her things. I’m scared that I’ll tell her too much, that I’ll tell her too fast, that I’ll mess it all up.

And I can’t help feeling like this may be my only chance, but I’m not sure I can do it. I can trust. I can take the chance of getting hurt. But I’m going to say things wrong. I’m going to mess up. And I’m just not sure that I can keep from messing up horribly and ruining this, not just for me, but for her too.

Will I ever be whole? Will I ever be able to tell someone the hard things? I don’t know. I just know I’m scared, and I don’t know how not to be. But at least it’s a good scared, the kind of scared that you feel when life is about to change. I just hope this goes well.

2 thoughts on “Trusting Someone

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

