The Power of Friends in Depression

I have this friend that basically knows I’m not okay. So she messages me pretty much every day to see how I’m doing and if I have eaten that day and just checks in with me.

I know I shouldn’t need that. I’m an adult. I should be able to handle myself and not have someone check to see if I’m meeting my needs. But… It is so helpful…

Teetering on the verge of depression, struggling with health issues, and fighting off anxiety is a lot to handle on my own. And even though I tell myself I can do it, I often don’t want to. I don’t feel like it’s worth the effort. I don’t feel like I’m worth the effort. But… Knowing that this friend will check in with me, knowing she may ask if I have eaten, I do eat, I do try, I do keep going.

Sometimes people feel like they have to do these great things for us. When you tell someone you think about suicide, they feel like they have to save you in some big way. But the truth is, it’s the little things that save us. It’s the everyday, mundane things like asking if we ate that day that ultimately saves our lives over and over.

So… Thank you. Thank you to this dear friend that saves me a million tears, a thousand lonely nights, and simply saves my life a hundred times over. And thank you to all my friends and all of you whose continual love and care keep me going when everything tells me to stop.

4 thoughts on “The Power of Friends in Depression

  1. I don’t have a friend that’ll check on me like this, but even if they did it won’t be enough.

    In truth, it’s not the little thing that counts. The little things mean nothing.

    I have problems and voids. If you can’t put effort into ACTIVELY filling the void, don’t put your superhero care and tell me you’re ‘helping me’.

    This what kills me about people. They think a little pep talk counts for nothing. No. It’s often just a little shot of vodka, causes a small high and sends you back down.

    Like

    • You’re right, having one friend like this wouldn’t be enough, especially if you’re going through depression right now. The little things mean nothing if there’s not the consistency and ongoing care and love that needs to go along with them. It has been the many people actively filling my voids that makes this friend and what she does so helpful for me now.

      It took a long time to get to this point. It took a lot of people caring over and over. I’m not trying to make it simple, depression and mental illness never is simple. The small things that one person does won’t make up for years of not having those things. But eventually, with many people doing small and big things over and over for years, it starts to help.

      I hope you can get to that point someday. I know it’s taken me many years to get to this point, but I am grateful to be here now. I hope the same for you.

      Like

  2. I think depression is something you can only help yourself with.. Friends of course can be very helpful and support you, but at the end of the day, you are the only one who can actually do something for it.. Although, love reading your post 🙂

    Like

    • In a way, you’re right. But having the friends helps motivate me to do something about it myself. So although it is my choice at the end of the day, I wouldn’t make it if it wasn’t for the support I received from others.

      Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

