It’s Okay to Be Different

It’s okay to be different. I have to keep reminding myself of that. As I sit rocking in my car before class, I have to remind myself that this doesn’t make me a failure. As I feel the urge to bang my head against walls or hurt myself in other ways, I have to remind myself that this doesn’t make me a bad person. As I flap my arms out of excitement or anxiety, I have to remind myself that it’s okay to be different.

I don’t know why I feel these things, but I have to resist the thoughts asking what’s wrong with me. Maybe nothing is wrong, maybe I’m just different. And maybe it’s okay to be different.

3 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Be Different

  1. If everyone in the world was the same it would be mighty boring. The world strives for uniqueness now. No body wants to be the same everyone wants to be vintage. And you my friend are vintage. Thank you for sharing this post it must of been incredibly hard for you to write. Thank you again x

    Like

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

