The Disconnect

You can be in a room by yourself and not feel lonely. You can be in a room full of people, sitting by yourself and not feel lonely. What makes you feel lonely is not being alone, it’s feeling disconnected from the people around you.

I don’t know what I have in common with people. I don’t think like other people. I have been through things that a lot of people my age don’t understand. I’m not super involved with my appearance like most girls my age. I don’t obsess about boys. I haven’t even really been on many dates.

Sometimes I just don’t see what I have in common with the people around me. And it makes me feel like an outsider. I wonder how I’m going to find a way to be part of the world around me when I don’t seem to be like anyone else. Where do I fit? Where am I meant to be? How do I find my place? And will I always feel as lonely and separated as I do now?

I don’t know. I know I don’t want to be like everyone else. I know I’m not really meant to be. But I want to feel more like everyone around me. I want to feel like I belong. I want to feel connected.

3 thoughts on “The Disconnect

  1. Lindsey says:

    Hey,
    I’m a new follower of your blog. My 11 year old son is Autistic and I suspect that I would have been diagnosed as a child if it was something people thought about back then.
    Anyway, I want to say I understand how you feel. I’ve always felt I was so much different from everyone else. I don’t think like they do. I see things in a much different way. I love that about myself, but it does get lonely. Connecting with people is hard, but you will find others out there to connect with. Even if you and they think differently, they will love and respect you for exactly who you are. It’s out there! Don’t give up hope!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? I'd love to hear them!

