To Mothers

Yesterday was Mother’s Day and I didn’t remember how much I miss my mom until I really stopped to remember the reason for mothers day and how grateful I am for my mom. So I just wanted to say to all mothers, if you haven’t heard your child say I love you or if you haven’t heard it in a while, just know that we do. We love you for all that you do and all that you are.

We may not be able to hug you or have conversations with you or effectively interact with you, but we love you. We love you more than you understand and more than we understand. We love just being around you even if it’s sitting in silence. We love hearing your voice and seeing you and spending time with you. We love knowing that you love us. We love having a mother and we love having you as our mother. We don’t know what we’d do without you.

Although I mostly write this to mothers of kids with autism, I think it applies to almost everyone that we don’t express our love for our mother as much as we really do love her. I personally have a hard time saying the words “I love you” because they never mean as much coming out of my mouth as they do in my heart. But maybe in writing my words will mean something close to how they feel within me.

I love you mom and I am so grateful you’re my mom.

One thought on “To Mothers

  1. Joseph says:

    This is a fitting tribute to all Mothers! Thank you for taking the time to let your mother, as well as the many others, know how important they are!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? I'd love to hear them!